Hangar-8

The slightly different hangar

As a functional compliment to Hangar‑7, a further highly unusual hangar for restoration and maintenance of the airplanes belonging to the Flying Bulls was put up very close by: Hangar‑8 is directly across from Hangar‑7, and it fulfills the function of a maintenance facility. Ground was broken for Hangar‑8 in early May 2002. The building was officially inspected by December 2003. In early 2004, all maintenance activities of the Flying Bulls were moved to Hangar‑8 from Hangar 9, which stands on a property adjoining Salzburg Airport and had served as a temporary facility.

In terms of working conditions and technical installations, Hangar‑8 exceeds all the usual international standards, and that’s no surprise: airplanes such as those flown by the Flying Bulls demand extensive, highly professional attention.

Despite the more humdrum requirements of a maintenance hangar, Hangar‑8 is architecturally sophisticated in its own right: after all, it has to fit into the overall ensemble, and the determining stylistic factor here is Hangar‑7: the steel construction of Hangar‑8 consists in a triangular, netted supporting structure including around 1,650 glass plates. Here as well, we see a striking interplay of steel and glass, and the resulting impression of lightness.

Technical data

>Max. height 12,5 m
Property Size 5.790 m²
Built-on area 2.830 m²
Ground area of hanger 3.700 m²
Gross volume total 26.700 m³
Steel structure 230 to
Max. width 63 m
Max. length 58 m

Impressionen

To top

Hangar-8

Die etwas andere Werft

In funktioneller Ergänzung zum Hangar‑7 wurde für Restaurierung und Instandhaltung der Flugzeuge der Flying Bulls ein weiterer höchst ungewöhnlicher Hangar in direkter Nachbarschaft errichtet: Der Hangar‑8 steht dem Hangar‑7 gegenüber und erfüllt die Funktionen einer Werft. Der Spatenstich für den Hangar‑8 war Anfang Mai 2002. Bereits im Dezember 2003 erfolgte die behördliche Abnahme. Anfang 2004 übersiedelte der gesamte Wartungsbetrieb der Flying Bulls vom Hangar 9, der als Zwischenlösung auf einem Nebengelände des Salzburg Airport diente, in den Hangar‑8.

Hinsichtlich der Arbeitsbedingungen und der technischen Ausstattung übertrifft der Hangar‑8 alle international gängigen Standards, was auch kein Wunder ist: Flugzeuge wie jene der Flying Bulls erfordern die intensivste Zuwendung auf höchstem professionellem Niveau.

Trotz der eher prosaischen Anforderungen einer Flugzeugwerft zeigt sich auch der Hangar‑8 architektonisch anspruchsvoll, schließlich muss er in das Gesamtensemble passen, dessen Stil ja vom Hangar‑7 vorgegeben ist: Die Stahlkonstruktion des Hangar 8 besteht aus einem gerichteten Dreiecks-Netztragewerk, in das etwa 1.650 Glasscheiben eingesetzt sind. Auch hier dominiert das Wechselspiel von Stahl und Glas und die daraus gewonnene, optische Leichtigkeit.

Technische Daten

Grundstücksgröße 5.790 m²
Überbaute Fläche 2.830 m²
Max. Höhe 12,5 m
Bruttorauminhalt 26.700 m³
Verbauter Stahl 230 to
Max. Breite 63 m
Max. Länge 58 m

Impressionen

Zum Anfang