Hangar-7

Architecture on wings

It all began with an entirely pragmatic problem: the Flying Bulls were looking for a suitable hangar that could be put to various additional uses. The core of the airplane collection and by far the largest object is a DC-6B with a rudder nine meters high. The basic idea was to construct a self-supporting shell around this airplane - as a symbol of the heavens.

The enclosure of altogether 64,300 cubic meters of space—with materials including 380 tons of special glass—was concluded on 22 August 2003 with the grand opening of Hangar‑7. Afterwards, the airplanes of the Flying Bulls moved into what is certainly the most spectacular place that airplanes have ever called home.

Even just the architecture rises quite literally above all other such structures: viewing it from the outside, one immediately thinks of a wing. The structure seems dynamic, practically weightless—despite weighing far over 1,500 tons. From the inside, the airplanes appear to be sheltered by their own heavenly canopy. The imposing form was achieved via the use of exactly 1,754 pieces of variously sized glass plates, some of them curved, which were joined to form a steel-and-glass construction.

The architectural concept of Hangar‑7, which marries modern technology to ancient, mythical dreams of flight, was realized at great expense and with great deal of innovative élan. Not only were planning and construction influenced by the results of a wind tunnel conducted on a scale model, but the diagonally tilted steel-and-glass ellipsoid, with a clear span over 100 meters long and 67 meters wide, defines entirely new limits of what is architecturally possible.

The concept behind the new Salzburg Airport landmark goes far beyond serving as a mere storage space for airplanes. Hangar‑7 was conceived as a place where technology, art and fine living come together. It houses a top-flight restaurant, several lounges, a café and two bars. Since its opening, the hangar has repeatedly played host to large art exhibitions and society events. It has also become popular as a location for presentations.

visit website

Technical data

Property Size 14.000 m²
Built-on area 4.100 m²
Ground area of hanger 3.700 m²
Gross volume total 64.300 m³
Steel structure 1.200 to
Weight of glass 380 t
Glass shell (without towers) 6.000 m²
Glass panes (developed area) 1.754 Stück
Max. unsupported span ca. 95 m auf 66 m
Crown height 14,5 m

Impressions

To top

Hangar-7

Die beflügelte Architektur

Am Anfang stand ein pragmatisches Problem: Für die Flying Bulls sollte ein adäquater Hangar mit verschiedenen zusätzlichen Nutzungsmöglichkeiten gefunden werden. Kernstück der Flugzeugsammlung und größtes Exponat ist eine DC-6B, deren Seitenleitwerk neun Meter hoch ist. Die Grundidee war, um dieses Flugzeug eine freigespannte Schale zu bauen – als Synonym für den Himmel.

Die Überbauung von insgesamt 64.300 Kubikmeter Rauminhalt – unter anderem mit 380 Tonnen Spezialglas – fand am 22. August 2003 mit der Eröffnung des Hangar‑7 ihren Abschluss. Danach bezogen die Flugzeuge der Flying Bulls das wohl spektakulärste Zuhause, das Flugzeuge jemals bezogen haben.

Allein architektonisch erhebt sich der Hangar‑7 im wahrsten Sinn des Wortes über alles Vergleichbare: Von außen betrachtet, drängt sich der Vergleich mit einem Flügel auf. Der Bau wirkt dynamisch, beinahe schwerelos – trotz eines Gesamtgewichts von weit über 1.500 Tonnen. Von innen betrachtet spannt sich ein „Himmelsgewölbe“ über die Flugzeuge. Erreicht wird der imposante Eindruck durch den Einsatz von exakt 1.754 Stück unterschiedlich großer, zum Teil speziell gebogener Glastafeln, die zu einer Stahl-Glas-Konstruktion zusammengefasst wurden.

Das architektonische Konzept des Hangar‑7, moderne Technik mit den mythischen Träumen vom Fliegen zu verbinden, wurde mit großem Aufwand und hoher Bereitschaft zur Innovation umgesetzt. Nicht nur, dass in Planung und Bau die Erkenntnisse eines Windkanal-Tests eines Modells des Gebäudes einflossen - das schräge Stahl-Glas-Ellipsoid, das sich frei schwebend über 100 Meter Länge und 67 Meter Breite spannt, definiert völlig neue Grenzen des statisch Machbaren.

Das Konzept hinter dem neuen Wahrzeichen des Salzburg Airport geht über den reinen Aufbewahrungsort von Flugzeugen jedoch hinaus. Der Hangar‑7 begreift sich als Treffpunkt von Technik, Kunst und gehobener Lebensart. Er beherbergt ein Spitzenrestaurant, mehrere Lounges, ein Café und zwei Bars. Seit seiner Eröffnung war der Hangar mehrmals Schauplatz großer Kunstaustellungen und auch gesellschaftlicher Events. Zudem hat er sich als Location für internationale Präsentationen bewährt.

Zur Website

Technische Daten

Grundstücksgröße 14.000 m²
Überbaute Fläche 4.100 m²
Grundfläche Hangar 3.700 m²
Bruttorauminhalt 64.300 m³
Verbauter Stahl 1.200 to
Gewicht vom Glas 380 t
Glasschale (ohne Türme) 6.000 m²
Glastafeln (bebaute Fläche) 1.754 Stück
Maximale freie Spannweite ca. 95 m auf 66 m
Scheitelhöhe 14,5 m

Impressionen

Zum Anfang