Felix Baumgartner

Red Bull Stratos Pilot

With a passion for pushing the limits, especially in the air, Felix Baumgartner is an expert parachutist best known for his outstanding stunts that set new world records.

On October 14th, 2012 Felix Baumgartner earned his place in the history books after jumping from a capsule almost 40km above the New Mexico desert. Baumgartner jumped from an altitude of 39,045 meters (128,100 feet) hitting a maximum speed of 1.342.8 km/h. The extraordinary feat broke three world records – the highest freefall, the highest manned balloon flight and he became the first man to break the speed of sound in freefall. The endeavor also provided invaluable scientific data on how the body copes at extreme altitudes that could be used to improve astronauts' safety in space. A record number of people watched Baumgartner as he climbed out of his capsule and stood on the edge, ready to make the biggest jump in history.

‘Sometimes you have to go up really high to understand how small you are’, he said, before plummeting back to earth.

Felix, born April 20, 1969, grew up in Salzburg where he dreamed of skydiving and flying helicopters after being inspired by astronauts on TV. He made his first skydive at age 16. Felix sharpened his parachute skills as a member of the demonstration and competition team of the Austrian military. In 1988, he began cooperating with Red Bull by performing skydiving exhibitions for them. The company's innovative thinking and Felix's adventurous spirit clicked, and Red Bull has sponsored him ever since.

Eager to test the limits, Felix also set a record for history's lowest BASE jump (from Rio de Janeiro's Christ the Redeemer statue) and set world records for the highest BASE jump from a building (Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur and Taipei 101 tower). Felix also completed a world record BASE jump from the Millau Bridge in France, the highest bridge in the world.

Felix was nominated for a World Sports Award and two categories in the NEA Extreme Sports Awards. Not only a BASE jumper the world has never seen before, Felix is also a licensed gas balloon and helicopter pilot. He is an advocate for the nonprofit Wings for Life Spinal Cord Research Foundation.

To top

Felix Baumgartner

Red Bull Stratos Pilot

Er ist ein leidenschaftlicher Grenzgänger, besonders oben in der Luft – Felix Baumgartner ist professioneller Fallschirmspringer, bekannt wegen seiner außerordentlichen Stunts, mit denen er schon mehrere Weltrekorde gebrochen hat.

Weltweite Bekanntheit erreichte Felix Baumgartner am 14. Oktober 2012, als es im US-Bundesstaat New Mexico hieß „Mission Red Bull Stratos erfüllt.“ Als erster Mensch raste er aus 39.045 Metern Höhe mit 1.342.8 km/h im freien Fall auf die Erde zu und brach damit drei Weltrekorde - die höchste bemannte Ballonfahrt, den höchsten Absprungspunkt sowie den schnellsten freien Fall. Als erster Mensch durchbrach Felix Baumgartner die Schallmauer – und bewies mit diesem riskanten Stunt, dass der menschliche Körper den Kräften der rasanten Geschwindigkeit standhalten würde. Weltweit hielten Millionen von Menschen vorm Fernseher und im Internet die Luft an, als Felix zum Absprung bereit an den Rand seiner Kapsel trat.

„Manchmal muss man wirklich hoch steigen, um zu erkennen, wie klein man ist!“
So lauteten Felix’ Worte vor dem Absprung.

Felix, geboren am 20. April 1969, wuchs in Salzburg auf. Inspiriert von den Astronauten im Fernsehen träumte er vom Fallschirmspringen und Helikopter-Flügen. Seinen ersten Fallschirmsprung wagte er mit 16. Die Kunst des Fallschirmspringens perfektionierte er als Mitglied des Demo- und Wettkampfteams des österreichischen Bundesheeres. 1988 begann er mit Fallschirm-Vorführungen seine Kooperation mit Red Bull. Die Innovationsfreude des Unternehmens und Felix’ Abenteuergeist passten gut zusammen, weshalb Red Bull den Fallschirmspringer seither sponsert.

Seine eigenen Grenzen testend, stellte Felix außerdem einen Rekord für den niedrigsten BASE Sprung der Geschichte auf (von der Christusstatue in Rio de Janeiro) und brach zweimal den Weltrekord für den höchsten BASE Sprung von einem Gebäude (den Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur und dem Taipei 101 Tower). Einen weiteren Weltrekord erzielte er mit seinem BASE Sprung von der Millau Brücke in Frankreich, der höchsten Brücke der Welt.

Felix wurde für einen World Sports Award und für zwei Kategorien in den NEA Extreme Sports Awards nominiert. Er ist nicht nur ein BASE Jumper, wie ihn die Welt noch nie zuvor gesehen hat, sondern auch lizenzierter Pilot von Heißluftballonen und Helikoptern. Außerdem unterstützt er die private Stiftung für Rückenmarksforschung Wings for Life.

Zum Anfang